Sundborn: The best place to recharge your batteries!

During the summer 2016, I went on a trip alone around Sweden. The whole trip was probably the best idea I ever had, especially because I was doing everything on my own. I started by 5 days in Stockholm, then 3 days in Uppsala and after that, I finally arrived in the Dalarna region which happened to be the most peaceful part of my trip. Let’s take a look at what happened there, shall we?

sundborn_river

For those who might not know, the Dalarna region is the central region of Sweden and one of the most “traditional” area in the country. Not really because of any old-fashion belief but mainly because most of the symbols of Sweden come from this place, like the red-wooden horse for example.

dala-horse

Sundborn or the most peaceful place in the world

I wanted to see the little village of Sundborn because the artist Carl Larsson and his wife had their home there. I didn’t know a lot about this artist but every single blog or guide I was looking at urged me to go. Fair enough, Sundborn it was!

It appeared that it was a bit more complicated than I thought to actually get there as there were no hostel in the village itself. Thus, I had to book a room in a small hostel: the STF Vandrarhem Falun/Sundborn, situated 3km away from Sundborn itself.

sundborn_hostel
Not that bad for a hostel, right?

I wasn’t expecting much from it, it was just another hostel on my way but it has been the best surprise of my trip! The hostel is a big house situated along the Sundborn river and decorated in a very traditional, cute and ancient way. When I arrived, a lovely old lady was here to welcome me and bring me to my very own room (such a luxury after the 16 beds dorms!)!

sundborn_hostel_view
The view from my room!!

In the evening, I could just sit on a bench in front of the water and read a good book, hearing nothing but the sound of birds… It sounds like a Disney movie but it is all true!

The next day, I decided to go to Sundborn and, instead of taking the bus, I walked the 3km. It was hot and sunny so I get all sweaty really fast but it definitely worth it!

flowers_sweden_dalarna
Those flowers are literally everywhere in Sweden

Same observation in Sundborn: the village is a jewel! The house of the artist was lovely and the guided tour really interesting (although it was supposed to be all in Swedish, the guide translated everything just for me). I loved all the red little houses, the contrast with that green nature around and the river just peacefully flowing.

carl_larsson_house
Carl Larsson’s house

Why should you go there?

After some personal trouble, I wasn’t feeling well at all when I decided to go to Sweden. In Sundborn, I finally had this deep feeling that I could be fine. So here are a few reasons why you should go if you get the chance to travel in Sweden:

  • The colours are beautiful
  • People are the nicest you will ever meet
  • It is a sunny and hot place in June
  • It will soothe you, I promise!

sundborn_river2

Ready to plan your next trip?

Leave a comment